baby food

a great first baby food: sweet potatoes

Recently on 1 Veggie at a Time, I wrote about my excitement surrounding homemade baby food.  My baby that now has teeth.  And he crawls.  How did this happen?  Anyway, my doctor had given me really great tips on how to go about this. Start with the yellow/orange vegetables.  Why?  Because they are easy to digest and starting with fruit may make a later vegetable introduction a bit difficult for taste buds that only know sweet.

We make nearly all of Anderson’s food.  The only time we’ve actually bought baby food is when we’ve had to travel.  Otherwise, we keep our eye out for organic veggies and fruit and stockpile them when we see a good deal.  Then, we make large batches of food that we can freeze or quickly run through a food mill.

What is in my freezer right now?
beets
raspberry/pear/apple
apricots
apple/cinnamon
blueberry/pear
pea/carrot/potato/herb
lentil stew

You can call me crazy, but I love making his food.  Seriously.

Here is how you can make a nice big batch of sweet potatoes that you can freeze.  It will provide many meals for your little one.

sweet potato baby food

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Scrub your sweet potatoes and rub some Earth Balance margarine on them.  This will help make it easier to peel the skin off later.

sweet potatoes for baby food
Bake them for 40 minutes.

timer 40 minutes
Let them cool a bit and then peel the skin off.

baked sweet potato, skin removed
Cut the hard ends off and cube.

baked sweet potatoes, cubed
Put the cubed sweet potatoes into your blender with 1 1/2 cups of water.  You may need to add more water to make the consistency smooth.

DSC_0917
Blend until smooth and then pour into your freezer containers.  When I made this batch, I realized I was out of containers and had to temporarily store it in a few jars.   You can see the lovely consistency here.

sweet potato baby food
We eventually started to use veggie broth instead of water for a little added flavor.  I don’t want Anderson to be a picky eater when he is older, so I now add parsley or spices or other fresh herbs I may have.  However, as a first food, I’d suggest keeping it as pure as possible.

Leave a Reply

